This text was kindly translated by Daniel Fisberg. Thanks!

During my first day, I noticed, deep down the Red Sea, this blue color I had never seen before. In the following morning, a spectacular red color made me smile involuntarily, from the top of the Sinai Mount, in which is believed that Moses received the 10 Commandments. In a day with much more than 24 hours, I moved from the bottom of the sea to one of the highest parts of the Sinai desert.

Mont Sinai

We agreed to meet at eleven in front of the hotel. From there, we would head towards de Saint Catherine monastery that lies on the Sinai bottom. Our plan was to climb the mount during the early morning, avoiding the burning sunshine but on time for the breaking dawn. Hundreds, if not thousands, of commuters coming from Dahab and Sharm El Sheik decided to share that full moon night with us. Dozens, if not hundreds, Bedouins decided to use the night to make a living.
Right at the beginning of the climb, our 19-year old guide showed us the meeting point and told us the duration of our journey: approximately 3 hours going up. He was expecting the Sun to rise at around 5 in the morning. Hundreds of Bedouins offered their camels in the pitch of the night, for a variety of prices. The moon struggle to lit the way, blocked by the several hills in the region.
The way up is not easy. The recommendation to us was to bring extra clothes (because we would sweat a lot along the way), a warm jacket and a flashlight. The steepness is not the biggest challenge, but the heat and the extension of the rock and sand trail are. From time to time we could spot a little hut offering a break, water, tea and some appetizers – all, of course, at western prices. My guide was convinced that I looked like a football player named Pato. In every stop, after some words in Arabic, the Bedouins were waving and calling me by my new nickname. 
After a few hours I could feel my t-shirt soaked up, but my feet and my operated knee indicated I could go all the way till the end. The landscape showed only the outline of the different mountains around, but the reflection of the moon and the tourists flashlights drew an interesting scenario. The final resting was 750 steps away from the summit, suggested as the best place to watch the sunrise
 Hundreds of people gathered, seeking the best view and watched the beautiful drawing of colors in the sky. Red and yellow tones not only gave color but also shaped the landscape. Slowly the Sun went hiding and groups of religious passersby - most of Eastern origin - were singing and celebrating the divine presence in one of the holiest sites for Jews, Christians and Muslims. And whatever the belief of the observer, the place conveys a different energy.
Suddenly, a tip of the sun dawned. The red horizontal line is now united in a well defined semicircle rising rapidly and trying to free up from the mountain. With the sun completely exposed, more songs in several languages could be heard. The spectacle of the sun was over and gave room  to the observation of several hills below us.
To descend, an alternative way of "just" 300 steps, almost a shortcut – a two hour walk- straight to the monastery. On the way down my legs begged for a pause and trembled every brief rest. With the monastery always in sight, the descent had a visible goal and served as motivation for the last strength of this 7 hour journey. Sure, the rocks in various shades of orange, brown and yellow were breathtaking.  An unforgettable experience.

Dive in the Red Sea– Blue Hole

I am not a big diving fan. I think fishes are better off without me. However, this time I decided to try snorkeling in a region with no more than 30 meters of diameter, called Blue Hole. The dive is literally done in this hole in the coral reef.
As soon as I entered the water I realized I wasn’t in a random place. The various shades of blue, mainly affected by the sun light, served only as a backdrop to the marine biodiversity in a space so restricted. The coral reefs serve as a gateway to the open sea. In a few seconds of swimming, the depth exceeded 30m. Other seconds and the sea could only be touched 120m deeper.
 From the "high ground", I watched the distance fish I had only seen before in saltwater aquariums, usually mentioned as rarities. Brightly colored or patterned in discrete shoals of hundreds if not thousands of flying fish with scuba divers, apparently already familiar with the constant presence. They say the Sinai is one of the best places to dive. I guess it was a good start for a first time diver.



7/21/2017 05:05:24 am

Nice blog.

Reply



Leave a Reply.